Executive Council

Executive Director | Registrar | President | Vice President | Secretary | Member-At-Large | Director of Volunteer Services | Treasurer | Director

NSAMRT Executive Council 2018-19 


Executive Director / Registrar
Julie Avery, BSc, MHA, RTNM, CTIC

Julie has more than 25 years of MRT experience including roles as a clinical technologist, educator at Dalhousie University and her current role as NSAMRT Executive Director. She has been an active volunteer both at the provincial and national levels for more than a decade. She holds a strong belief in continuous professional development and evidence-based practice which she has demonstrated in attaining her master's in Health Administration and participating in NSHRF and Health Canada research review and evaluation.

Professional Affiliations:



Phillips Award - CAMRT (2014) 
The CCH - K.P. Richard Award - Dalhousie University MHA (2013) 
Edward L. Roach Award - Dalhousie University MHA (2013) 
Dr. Alan D. Thomson Award - Dalhousie University MHA (2013) 
Dr. A. Peter Ruderman Award -- Dalhousie University MHA (2013)

Megan Brydon, BHSC, RTNM, MSc(c)

Megan has a real zeal for… well, a lot of things, but in particular all things MRT. She graduated from Dalhousie University School of Health Sciences with her BHSc in Nuclear Medicine Technology in 2007 and volunteered with the NSAMRT board in a variety of rolls since 2010. Currently working as a PACS administrator at the IWK, she is ecstatic about technology, healthcare and enabling others to build their professional profile.

Professional Affiliations:

NSAMRT (Finance Committee, Past Treasurer, Past Secretary, Past Member-at-large, Past Policy & Procedures Committee) 
CAMRT (Nominations Committee, Young Professionals Advisory Council) 
IWK Health Centre (Clinical Ethics Consultant, Diversity & Inclusion Committee, Fun! Krew) 
Techsploration (Role Model) 
Society for Imaging Informatics in Medicine 
Dalhousie University


KUDOS recognition award: Peer nomination, IWK Health Centre, Halifax, NS 
CAMRT Certificate of Merit for an essay: A Practical Evaluation of Lead Aprons: Evidence-Based Radiation Protection for Nuclear Medicine Technology. 
DRAXIMAGE Award, Radiologist Award, Dr. Robert H Martin Prize in Nuclear Medicine Technology, School of Health Sciences, Dalhousie University, May 2007 
Heather Mattice Memorial Award, School of Health Sciences, Dalhousie University

Vice President
Chrissy Gamache, BHSc, RTR

Chrissy graduated the Dalhousie University/QEII School of Health Sciences in 2009. She has been lucky enough to work as a Radiological Technologist at the children’s hospital, the IWK Health Centre in Halifax, ever since. She co-chaired the 2012 NSAMRT conference and joined the Executive Council that same year and mostly was the volunteer coordinator at the 2016 CAMRT conference.

Professional Affiliations:

NSAMRT -, Current Communication Chair 
A graduate of the Leadership Development Institute 
NSAMRT Registrar 2012-2016, Past member of the Credentials Committee

Bev Barrios, RTR

Bev has been an MRT for over 23 years now. Having graduated from the Victoria General Hospital School of Radiological Technology she chose to begin her career in Singapore so that she could work in her chosen field. Since then, she has worked across Canada as well as in different areas of the province to include Antigonish, New Glasgow and many locations in Central Zone.

Bev believes that continuing education is essential, especially in a field with ever-changing technology. She has completed her CT certification through the British Colombia Institute of Technology and her Graduate Certificate in Leadership in Healthcare through the Michener Institute.

Bev has moved into a leadership role as the Site Leader for the Cobequid Diagnostic Imaging Department. She loves the combination of working in both modalities of CT and general imaging while being in a leadership role. Best of both worlds!

Now that her two children are older, she is happy to help in more ways which include volunteering with the NSAMRT on the Fitness to Practice Committee as well as being an active member on the board.

Rebecca Jessome BHSc, RTMR, RTNM

Member-at- Large
Diana Sheppard RTR

Paul Menhennett RTR

Dave McAloney, BSc(MRS), RTT

Dave McAloney is a radiation therapist at the Nova Scotia Cancer Center. He earned his degree in health sciences with a specialization in medical radiation sciences at the University of Toronto. Dave also holds a diploma of health sciences in radiation therapy from the Michener Institute for Applied Health Sciences. One of his professional accomplishments includes completing the didactic component of the specialization in medical dosimetry.

Jonathan Bower, BHSc, RTNM

Jonathan is a Nuclear Medicine Technologist at the QEII Health Sciences Center is Halifax, Nova Scotia. Mr. Bower graduated from Dalhousie University in 2010 with a Bachelors Degree in Nuclear Medicine Technology which included a specialty practice in PET/CT. Mr. Bower is dedicated to the regulation of MRTs in Nova Scotia and has sat on the executive board of the Nova Scotia Association of Medical Radiation Technologists (NSAMRT) since 2011.

Professional Affiliations:

Chair of the NSAMRT Professional Conduct Committee 
Past-Committee Liaison Officer of the NSAMRT 
Past- Director of Membership Services